top of page
Hello!

I'm Miranda! I love making, photographing, and, yes, eating vegan food. Click here to learn more about me.

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Let's TACO 'bout Breakfast!

Breakfast burritos: one of the best food items from my pre-vegan days. I used to love the eggs with the potato chunks and melted cheese... until I realized I definitely should NOT be eating animal products.

And I haven't had a breakfast burrito since going vegan, over two-years ago.

But this post isn't about breakfast burritos. "Why" you ask? Well, my reader, it's because TEXAS.

I was born in Texas, so there's always a littleeee part of me that has that TX pride.

In Texas, breakfast tacos (not burritos) are the REAL DEAL.

Okay, I've actually never had one, but I can 100% guarantee that breakfast tacos are a serious Texas thing. After making the vegan version, I now totally understand why.

My VEGAN BREAKFAST TACOS are easy to make, oil-free, healthy, and non-vegan-family-member approved. So actually, these are the real deal.

Tofu Scramble + Roasted Potatoes + Avocado + Salsa + Corn Tortilla = My Breakfast #GOALS

So get pressin' that tofu, choppin' those taters, and pickin' that perfect avocado because it's time to revamp your breakfast.

 

TOFU BREAKFAST TACOS

Makes about 4 tacos

Roasted Potato Chunks

(Start with potatoes)

- 2 Small/Medium Russet Potatoes

- Garlic Powder

- Black Pepper

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Chop potatoes into small chunks (about 1/4 cubed inch).

3. Line baking sheet with foil and spray olive oil lightly to avoid sticking.

4. Put potato chunks on baking sheet and put pepper and garlic powder to taste on top.

5. Roast potatoes for about 15 minutes, toss to flip over pieces, then broil on low until fully cooked (about 5 minutes).

TOFU SCRAMBLE

- 1 Block Firm Tofu (pressed overnight)

- ~1/4 cup Chopped Onion

- 1.5 tbsp. Nutritional Yeast

- 1/4 tsp Ground Cumin

- 1 tsp Salt

- 1/4 tsp Ground Pepper

- 1/2 tsp turmeric

- 1/4 tsp garlic powder

- ~1/4 cup Water (I have a small cup of water and use it when I feel needed)

1. Sautee onions in a bit of water on medium heat until cooked.

2. Crumble pressed tofu into pan in small(ish), scrambled-egg-eque, pieces.

3. Add in all spices and nutritional yeast, and stir around until tofu is completely covered in spices and is thoroughly warm.

PUTTING IT TOGETHER

- Corn or Flour Tortillas (warmed up)

- Avocado, sliced

- Salsa

1. Add tofu scramble, potatoes, and rest of ingredients into tortillas.

HAPPY MUNCHING!

bottom of page