top of page
Hello!

I'm Miranda! I love making, photographing, and, yes, eating vegan food. Click here to learn more about me.

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

College, Clubs, and Campus Dining

I guess you could say it's been awhile since I've written on here... half a year to be exact. Yikes!

Between getting ready for college, actually coming to college, and having to adjust to an entirely new lifestyle, I somehow lost my groove of things in the realm of social media (not that that's necessarily a bad thing, but still). Instagram has been my creative space for cooking and photographing food, and this blog was my vacation home for the same. At the beginning of things I was so, so eager to post and create. However, due to the lack of time (or possibly poor time management skills???) I started losing my touch. Needless to say this site became a ghost town and my Instagram, a series of throwbacks.

The true culprit? College...

... and the club, sorority, and various other commitments I joined/made over the course of my first quarter at Cal Poly. I honestly had the time of my life making life-long friends, winning IM volleyball championships, writing for Spoon University, and just doin' the college thing. Here's a little recap:

I had multiple article published to Spoon University, the club that allows me to literally do my dream job of writing about and photographing food. There's been a recreation of Cafe Gratitude's amazing vegan nachos; a how-to guide to my fav food spot on campus, Shake Smart; and a boujee recipe for a Raw Vegan White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake. The fact that I have the opportunity to write about all of this alongside so many people with the same interests is SO. COOL.!!!.

I also joined an awesome sorority, with amazing girls (some of THE best people ever), and got to play IM volleyball with them. Like I mentioned before, we kicked butt. I also hardly played, but I cheered pretty hard so that counts... right?!

Not to mention, I had a long, hard, crying-involved debate with myself over whether I should continue majoring in nutrition, or instead switch to journalism. The pen and paper won, but nutrition is still tagging along as a minor (and I might tack on another minor along the way). I realized that my dream job wasn't really to be a dietitian, but to rather write about food, health, or well-being for a magazine one day. I have to admit, I am crazily enthusiastic about knowing I might truly have the opportunity to do so one day.

All of that being said, as I wrap up my second week of winter quarter, I've decided that a belated New Year's Resolution of mine is to get back to what I love doing most: taking at least 500 pictures of every aesthetic meal I make. Oh, and also hitting the gym more because freshmen 15 is NOT happening, okay? Okay.


bottom of page